facebook
Choosing a Research Degree

We welcome applications from students in many disciplines – learn more about our main research areas.

Bath Business School

The Bath Business School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Business and Management
  • Finance and Accounting
  • Strategy and Enterprise
  • Hotel Management
  • International Business
  • Human Resource Management

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees tutor for Bath Business School, Dr Mark Loon, or Dr Ben Davies.

A full list of subjects and respective academics can be found on the Bath Business School research degrees page.

Bath School of Art and Design

Art

The Art School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

Design

The Design School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

Art and Design Research Centres

Research Centres have been established for:

To discuss your research interests and potential project proposal, please contact

Further information on the research being undertaken by the Bath School of Art and Design can be found on our Research pages.

College of Liberal Arts

Culture and Environment

The Field of Culture and Environment welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Biology
  • English
  • Environmental Studies
  • Food Science
  • Global Development
  • Geography
  • History and Heritage
  • Psychology
  • Religion and Philosophy
  • Sociology and Criminology

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the following:

Bath School of Music and Performing Arts

The Bath School of Music and Performing Arts welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Acting
  • Arts Management
  • Music
  • Theatre Production
  • Commercial Music
  • Drama
  • Dance

To discuss your research interests and potential project proposal, please contact the following: 

The School of Creative Industries

The School of Creative Industries welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Creative Computing
  • Creative Writing
  • Creative Music Technology
  • Publishing
  • Media
  • Film and TV
  • Creative Media Practice

To discuss your research interests and potential project proposal, please contact the following:

Institute for Education

Philosophy of Education

Dr Howard Gibson (h.gibson@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Darren Garside (d.garside@bathspa.ac.uk)

Science Education

Dr Kendra McMahon (k.mcmahon@bathspa.ac.uk)

Learning Technology

Dr Dana Ruggiero (d.ruggiero@bathspa.ac.uk)

Leadership and Management

Dr Nick Sorensen (n.sorensen@bathspa.ac.uk)

Teacher Education

Professor Geoff Whitty (g.whitty@bathspa.ac.uk)

International Education

Dr Graham Downes (g.downes@bathspa.ac.uk)

Secondary Maths Education

Dr Nicholas Peatfield (n.peatfield@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Sarah Wilton-Rhead (s.wilton-rhead@bathspa.ac.uk)

Education and Policy

Dr Kate Reynolds (k.reynolds@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Richard Riddell (r.riddell@bathspa.ac.uk)

Inclusion and Vulnerable learners

Dr Ghazala Bhatti (g.bhatti@bathspa.ac.uk)

Education Research Centres

Research Centres have been established for:

To discuss your research interests and potential project proposal, please contact

  • Higher Degrees Tutor for the Institute for Education, Dr Mary Stakelum
  • For interest in the the newly established Professional Doctorate in Education, contact Dr Charlotte Chadderton for further information.

Edit section | Website feedback to web@bathspa.ac.uk