We welcome applications from students in many disciplines – learn more about our main research areas.

University-wide Research Centres

College of Liberal Arts

Bath Business School

The Bath Business School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Business and Management
  • Finance & Accounting
  • Strategy & Enterprise
  • Hotel Management
  • International Business
  • Human Resource Management

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for Bath Business School, Georgina Andrews (g.andrews@bathspa.ac.uk)

Culture and Environment

The Field of Culture and Environment welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Biology
  • English
  • Environmental Studies
  • Food Science
  • Global development
  • Geography
  • History & Heritage
  • Psychology
  • Religion & Philosophy
  • Sociology & Criminology

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for Culture and Environment, Alison Lee (a.c.lee@bathspa.ac.uk)

Writing and Performance

The Field of Writing and Performance welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Acting
  • Arts Management
  • Music
  • Theatre Production
  • Creative Writing
  • Commercial Music
  • Drama
  • Dance

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for Performance, Amanda Bayley (a.bayley@bathspa.ac.uk), or for Creative Writing, Tracey Brain (t.brain@bathspa.ac.uk).

Digital Academy

The Field of Writing, Performance and Production welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Creative Computing
  • Creative Music Technology
  • Publishing
  • Media
  • Film & TV
  • Creative Media Practice

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for the Digital Academy, Ben Ramsey (b.ramsay@bathspa.ac.uk)

Research Centres

Research Centres have been established for:

Bath School of Art and Design

Art

The Art School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Art
  • Ceramics
  • Photography

Design

The Design School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Design
  • Fashion
  • Textiles
  • Graphics

Research Centres

Research Centres have been established for:

To discuss your research interests and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for the Bath School of Art and Design, Robin Marriner (r.marriner@bathspa.ac.uk)

Institute for Education

Philosophy of Education

Dr Howard Gibson (h.gibson@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Darren Garside (d.garside@bathspa.ac.uk)

Science Education

Dr Kendra McMahon (k.mcmahon@bathspa.ac.uk)

Learning Technology

Dr Dana Ruggiero (d.ruggiero@bathspa.ac.uk)

Leadership and Management

Dr Nick Sorensen (n.sorensen@bathspa.ac.uk)

Teacher Education

Professor Geoff Whitty (g.whitty@bathspa.ac.uk)

International Education

Dr Graham Downes (g.downes@bathspa.ac.uk)

Secondary Maths Education

Dr Nicholas Peatfield (n.peatfield@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Sarah Wilton-Rhead (s.wilton-rhead@bathspa.ac.uk)

Education and Policy

Dr Kate Reynolds (k.reynolds@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Richard Riddell (r.riddell@bathspa.ac.uk)

Inclusion and Vulnerable learners

Dr Ghazala Bhatti (g.bhatti@bathspa.ac.uk)

Research Centres

Research Centres have been established for:

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees Tutor for the Institute for Education, Dr Mary Stakelum (m.stakelum@bathspa.ac.uk)

Edit section