facebook
Choosing a Research Degree

We welcome applications from students in many disciplines – learn more about our main research areas.

Bath Business School

The Bath Business School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Business and Management
  • Finance and Accounting
  • Strategy and Enterprise
  • Hotel Management
  • International Business
  • Human Resource Management

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the Higher Degrees tutor for Bath Business School, Dr Ben Davies.

A full list of subjects and respective academics can be found on the Bath Business School research degrees page.

Bath School of Art and Bath School of Design

Art

The Art School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

Design

The Design School welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

Art and Design Research Centres

Research Centres have been established for:

To discuss your research interests and potential project proposal, please contact

Further information on the research being undertaken by the Bath School of Art and the Bath School of Design can be found on our Research pages.

Additional schools by subject

School of Humanities

The School of Humanities welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • English Literature
  • History, Heritage and Politics
  • Religions, Philosophy and Ethics

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the following:

School of Sciences

The School of Sciences welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Biology
  • Criminology
  • Environmental Studies
  • Food Science
  • Human Nutrition
  • Geography
  • Global Development
  • Psychology
  • Sociology

To discuss your research interests, and potential project proposal, please contact the following:

Bath School of Music and Performing Arts

The Bath School of Music and Performing Arts welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Acting
  • Arts Management
  • Music
  • Theatre Production
  • Commercial Music
  • Drama
  • Dance

To discuss your research interests and potential project proposal, please contact the following: 

The School of Creative Industries

The School of Creative Industries welcomes postgraduate research proposals in the following subject areas:

  • Creative Computing
  • Creative Writing
  • Creative Music Technology
  • Publishing
  • Media
  • Film and TV
  • Creative Media Practice

To discuss your research interests and potential project proposal, please contact the following:

School of Education

Philosophy of Education

Dr Howard Gibson (h.gibson@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Darren Garside (d.garside@bathspa.ac.uk)

Science Education

Dr Kendra McMahon (k.mcmahon@bathspa.ac.uk)

Learning Technology

Dr Dana Ruggiero (d.ruggiero@bathspa.ac.uk)

Leadership and Management

Dr Nick Sorensen (n.sorensen@bathspa.ac.uk)

Secondary Maths Education

Dr Nicholas Peatfield (n.peatfield@bathspa.ac.uk) and Dr Sarah Wilton-Rhead (s.wilton-rhead@bathspa.ac.uk)

Education and Policy

Dr Richard Riddell (r.riddell@bathspa.ac.uk)

Inclusion and Vulnerable learners

Dr Ghazala Bhatti (g.bhatti@bathspa.ac.uk)

Education Research Centres

Research Centres have been established for:

To discuss your research interests and potential project proposal, please contact

Edit section | Website feedback to web@bathspa.ac.uk