Our Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is responsible for:

  1. determining the educational character and mission of the University and for oversight of its activities
  2. the effective and efficient use of resources, the solvency of the University and the Higher Education Corporation and for safeguarding their assets
  3. approving annual estimates of income and expenditure
  4. the appointment, assessment, appraisal, grading, suspension, dismissal and determination of the pay and conditions of service of the holders of senior posts
  5. setting a framework for the pay and conditions of service of all other staff

"Every institution is headed by a governing body who are collectively responsible for overseeing the institution’s activities, determining its future direction, and fostering an environment in which the institutional mission is achieved, and the potential of all students is realised."

Higher Education Funding Council for England

Membership of the Board of Governors

Independent Governors

  • Robin Alexander
  • Will Archer
  • Nina Campbell
  • Teresa Fisk
  • Louise Fleming
  • Martin Francis
  • Terence Jagger (Chair)
  • Theresa Lloyd
  • Philip Martin
  • Edward Mason
  • Trevor Osborne
  • David Pester (Deputy Chair)

Co-opted Governors

  • Simon Blake
  • Jonathan Glasspool
  • Rosemary Heald

University and Staff Governors

  • Kerry Curtis
  • Kristin Doern
  • Christina Slade (Vice-Chancellor)

Student Governors

  • Alkiviadis Fassoulis
  • Kitty Hilton

In attendance

  • Christopher Ellicott (Clerk)

In addition to the main board, there are five sub-committees.

  • Audit Committee
  • Committee of Independent Governors
  • Nominations Committee
  • Policy and Resources Committee
  • Remuneration Committee
Edit section