Education Committee


To support the work of the Pro Vice-Chancellor Student Experience in ensuring that the quality of the student learning experience meets the strategic needs of the University and the expectations of its students.

Terms of reference

The Education Committee will be responsible for: 

  1. Advising Academic Board on strategies relating to the enhancement of the student academic experience
  2. Oversight of action taken by the Schools of study and professional services to respond to student feedback and enhance the student experience at all levels of study
  3. The review, approval, and implementation of policies and procedures relating to learning and teaching
  4. The review, approval, and implementation of policies and procedures relating to student wellbeing and learning support
  5. Advising on any other matters referred by the Academic Board.


  • Dr Becky Schaaf - Pro Vice-Chancellor Student Experience (Chair)
  • Dr Mark McGuinness - Pro Vice-Chancellor Academic Planning (Deputy Chair)
  • Professor Alison Honour - Pro Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean, Faculty of Arts, Design and Media, Birmingham City University (External Member)
  • Ceri Bailey - Students' Union Vice-President (Education)
  • Jonny Barden - Head of Schools Administrative and Technical Services
  • Alison Baud - Director of Library and Learning Services
  • Kerry Curtis - Head of School, Bath School of Design
  • Sara Gallagher - Head of Student Wellbeing Services
  • Dr Susan MacMillan - Head of School of Creative Industries
  • Dr Rebecca McGuire-Snieckus - Head of School of Sciences
  • Mark Langley - Head of School of Music and Performing Arts
  • Lorna Lewis - Academic Policy Advisor (Secretary)

Edit section | Website feedback to