Academic Board

Academic Board is responsible for the academic leadership of research, scholarship, teaching and courses at the University.

Subject to provisions of the University's Articles of Government, the Board is responsible for:

  1. General issues relating to the research, scholarship, teaching and courses at the University, including criteria for the admission of students, the appointment and removal of internal and external examiners, policy and procedures for assessment and examination of the academic performance of students, the content of the curriculum, academic standards and the validation and review of courses, the procedures for the award of qualifications and honorary academic titles, and the procedures for the expulsion of students for academic reasons (such responsibilities are subject to requirements of validating and accrediting bodies where appropriate)
  2. Considering the development of the academic activities of the University and the resources needed to support them and for advising the Vice-Chancellor and the Board of Governors thereon
  3. Advising on such matters as the Board of Governors or the Vice-Chancellor may refer to the Academic Board.


The Academic Board works within the context established by:

  • The Education Acts in force
  • The Articles of Government and the associated Rules and Bylaws
  • The power, conferred on the University by the Privy Council, to award degrees and other qualifications up to the level of taught masters under its own name
  • The Academic Regulations agreed by the Academic Board
  • The requirements of relevant external bodies (eg. HEFCE, QAA or TTA)

Some of the practices described here are determined by bodies external to the Academic Board, for example the Vice-Chancellor or the Vice-Chancellor's representatives acting through the structure of line management, and in some cases funding or other bodies to whom the University is accountable.

The definition of academic quality adopted by the University is "fitness for [the] purpose" expressed in its Mission. The quality assurance processes to achieve this end operate within the principles below.

Academic Board membership

2019/20 members

  • Sue Rigby – Chair (Vice-Chancellor)
  • Neil Sammels – Deputy Chair (Deputy Vice-Chancellor)
  • David Lamburn – External Member
  • Mark McGuinness – Pro Vice-Chancellor, Academic Planning
  • Andy Salmon – Pro Vice-Chancellor, External Relations
  • John Strachan – Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and Enterprise
  • Rebecca Schaaf – Pro Vice-Chancellor, Student Experience
  • Dan Allen – Head of School, Art
  • Georgina Andrews – Head of School, Business
  • Susan McMillan – Head of School, Creative Industries
  • Kerry Curtis – Head of School, Design
  • Kyriaki Anagnostopoulou, – Head of School, Education
  • Alison Hems – Head of School, Humanities
  • Mark Langley – Head of School, Music and Performing Arts
  • Rebecca McGuire-Snieckus – Head of School, Science
  • Jazz Nesbitt-Larking – Students' Union President
  • Ceri Bailey – Students' Union Vice-President (Education)
  • Camila Fuentes Diaz – Elected Postgraduate Rep (until Nov 2019)
  • Alison Baud – Director of Library and Learning Services
  • James Newman – Elected Member, School of Creative Industries
  • Richard Stamp – Elected Member, School of Humanities
  • Dr Anna Walker – Elected Member, Business
  • Martin Dupras – Elected Member, School of Music and Performing Arts
  • Charles Wiffen – Elected Member, Board of Governors
  • Laura Porter – Sectretary

Academic Board subcommittees

Academic Board fulfils many of its responsibilities through an infrastructure of executive sub-committees, listed below. The Vice-Chancellor is an ex-officio member of all sub-committees of the Academic Board.

Edit section | Website feedback to web@bathspa.ac.uk