Research and Ethics Committee – Bath Spa University


To support the work of the Pro Vice-Chancellor Research and Enterprise in ensuring that the research environment and management of ethical considerations meet the strategic needs of the University and the expectations of external stakeholders. For this purpose, the term “research” includes knowledge exchange and consultancy.

Terms of reference

The Research and Ethics Committee will be responsible for: 

  1. Advising the Academic Board on strategies relating to the development and enhancement of research and the research environment
  2. The review, approval, and implementation of policies and procedures relating to research and ethics
  3. Ensuring that external expectations and statutory requirements relating to research and ethics are met
  4. Advising on any other matters referred by the Academic Board.


  • Professor John Strachan - Pro Vice-Chancellor Research and Enterprise (Chair)
  • Dr Andy Salmon - Pro Vice-Chancellor External (Deputy Chair)
  • Professor Jeremy Bradshaw - Pro Vice-Chancellor (International and Doctoral), University of Bath (External member)
  • Jasmine Smail - Vice-President Education, Students' Union
  • Professor Rebecca McGuire-Snieckus - Head of School of Sciences
  • Dr Tanvir Bush - Early stage researcher, School of Education
  • Eri Mountbatten-O'Malley - Mid career researcher, School of Education
  • Dr Samantha Walton - Research professor/reader, School of Writing, Publishing and the Humanities
  • Richard Taylor - Deputy Directory of Library and Learning Services
  • Nicky Brothwell - Human Resources Business Partner
  • Sarah Priston - Research Support Manager
  • Dr Neil Strevett - Academic Policy Adviser (Secretary)

Edit section | Website feedback to