Skip to main content
Stephen Moss Wainwright Prize – Bath Spa University

Wainwright Prize for Nature Writing


Academic shortlisted for top nature writing prize

Wednesday, 6 September, 2023

Book cover imageDr Stephen Moss, Senior Lecturer and Course Leader on the MA Nature and Travel Writing course at Bath Spa University, has been shortlisted for a prestigious Wainwright Prize for Nature Writing. 

Now in its 10th year, the Wainwright Prize celebrates the legacy of British guidebook writer Alfred Wainwright and recognises titles inspired by nature that focus on some aspect of nature and the outdoors. 

Stephen was nominated for his new book, Ten Birds that Changed the World, and he is one of just five writers shortlisted in this category. Other awards this year include the Wainright Prize for Writing on Conservation and the Wainwright Prize for Children’s Writing on Nature and Conservation. 

Talking about his proud moment, Stephen said: "I'm honoured and delighted to be shortlisted for this very prestigious award - the nature writers' equivalent of the Booker Prize!" 

In addition to helping develop students’ writing and observational abilities, Stephen is a keen wordsmith having written more than thirty non-fiction books on birds and wildlife. He is also a credible voice in the media and has contributed to The Guardian and BBC Wildlife magazine. 

The winners of this year’s prizes will be chosen based on the work which best reflects Wainwright’s core values and includes a celebration of nature and our natural environment, or a warning of the dangers to it across the globe. 

This year’s judging panels are chaired by TV presenter and outdoors enthusiast Ray Mears (Nature Writing award), CEO of The Wildlife Trusts, Craig Bennett (Conservation award) and National Trust’s Communication and Campaign Director, Mark Funnell (Children’s award). 

Winners will be announced on Thursday 14 September 2023 at the Brewery Arts Centre in Kendal, the Lake District, where Alfred Wainwright worked and lived. For the first time ever, members of the public are invited to attend the festival-style celebratory event. 

For more details about the awards, you can visit the Wainwright Prize website.

Edit section | Website feedback to