Skip to main content
Wilfred Southall Sustainability Awards – Bath Spa University

The Wilfred Southall Sustainability Awards

Brief description

The Southall Trust is a Quaker based, family run, grant making charitable trust, established in 1937 by Wilfred Francis Southall. The Trust is founded upon the Quaker principles of love and respect for one's neighbour. It is committed to creating a more just, peaceful and collaborative society and makes awards in five categories: Quaker Work and Witness; Environmental Action and Sustainability; Peace and Reconciliation; Social Action.

The Wilfred Southall Sustainability Awards are made in three categories:

  1. Sustainable communication
    A project or process that re-presents a contemporary issue or re-considers engagement with a contentious issue in a national or international context.
  2. Sustainable fabrication
    A project or process that makes innovative or ingenious use of materials, promoting material circulation/the circular economy, or energy conscious solutions (including online) in design, sculptural, or material intervention.
  3. Sustainable community engagement
    A project or process that uses diverse or unexpected collaboration to promote social cohesion/inclusion or reconciliation.


The Award is open to taught postgraduate students in Bath School of Art, Film and Media and Bath School of Design. There is no application process – current students will be nominated by lecturers from the schools and selected by an external panel. Students selected for the award will deliver a presentation to peers and staff in the year following their MA qualification.

Awards of £1,000 per category will be given in two instalments: £800 will be paid to the student following an award ceremony at the MA Degree show in September and the balance of £200, when the student has made a presentation on the development of their project to the School of Art, Film and Media and Bath School of Design.

The awards will run for three years, from 2022 to 2025.

Edit section | Website feedback to